What Is Safety Level Of Refrigerants ?

- Aug 28, 2020-

Refrigerants should have acceptable safety. Safety mainly includes toxicity and flammability. The national standard "Refrigerant Numbering Method and Safety Classification" GB/T 7778-2017 classifies the toxicity of refrigerants into Class A (low chronic toxicity) ), Class B (high chronic toxicity), the flammability is divided into Class 1 (no flame spread), Class 2L (weakly flammable), Class 2 (flammable), and Class 3 (flammable and explosive). According to GB/T 7778-2017, the safety of refrigerants is subdivided into 8 categories, namely: A1, A2L, A2, A3, B1, B2L, B2, and B3. Among them, A1 is the safest and B3 is the most dangerous. 

The safety level of the refrigerant:


The safety levels of common refrigerants are as follows:

Class A1:

R11, R12, R13, R113, R114, R115, R116, R22, R124, R23, R125, R134a, R227ea, R236fa, R1233zd(E), R1336mzz(Z), R218, RC318, R401a, R401b, R402a, R402b, R403a, R403b, R404a, R407a, R407b, R407c, R407d, R408a, R409a, R410a, R417a, R422d, R500, R501, R502, R507a, R508a, R508b, R509a, R513a, R744

Category A2:

R142b, R152a, R406a, R411a, R411b, R412a, R413a, R415b, R418a, R419a, R512a

A2L category:

R143a, R32, R1234yf, R1234ze(E)

Category A3:

R290, R600, R600a, R601a, R1270, RE170, R510a, R511a

Category B1: R123, R245fa

Category B2L: R717